Tuesday, 9 September 2014


What is a time zone?
A time zone is something that separates countries, we have a time zone because the sun cannot be at one place at a time. When it gets to 1 O'clock the sun moves 45 degrees.

Why do we have time zones?
Because the sun cannot be at all places at once.

How are the time zones set?
Time zones are determined by the line of longitude that runs down that specific country. Each line of longitude has a 15 degree difference and every 15 degree is 1 hour different.

Which direction does the Earth rotate? (clockwise or anticlockwise)
The earth turns counter-clockwise.

How many time zones are there altogether?
There are currently 40 world time zones in the world.

What are the time zones named?
They use  Abbreviations for the time zones so they know what country or town it is for example New Zealand is NZL.

Which time zone is New Zealand part of?
New Zealand is part of the Pacific Ocean time zone.

Name 2 other countries which are also in our time zone.
Cook Islands and Chatham Islands. 

What is the international date line and why do we have it?
The International Date Line, established in 1884, passes through the mid-Pacific Ocean and roughly follows a 180 degrees longitude north-south line on the Earth.

Embed a helpful Youtube video you have found
I found this video helpful.

No comments:

Post a Comment